Reach for the Stars!

Artist’s Statement-

On my card for the National Cancer Society I made a picture of some snow- capped mountains and some pine trees set against a background of a starry sky. The picture was made up of mostly triangles which I used to make the mountains and the tops of the trees. I tried to use calming colors in my work such as green, blue, and gray. I thought that the font I used, called “Starbold,” was quite a good touch. It looked really cool and added to the picture, especially because I made it yellow to match the color of the stars. I made this artwork in Adobe Illustrator on an iMac. One challenging part of this project was keeping all my designs within the borderlines of the card. Many times, my designs spilled out beyond the blue border signifying the size of the card. I did not have a big idea when making this piece. I just wanted my design to convey a sense of calm. I thought the landscape on the card would convey serenity and peace when looking at it. I used the peacefulness angle for my card because I thought it might help to bring some peace, however small the amount, into the life of someone struggling with Cancer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar